Mighty Ruins

Standing in the corner
Tall it looks affront
Ruins define existence
Telling mighty tales.

Dark is all the present
As glimpse of light falls
Sun rises beneath it
Glittering image of history.

Lessons are written in walls
Of the sour grapes it gave
And rosy petals that smelled
In garden of sorrows and love.

That wasn’t supposed to happen
Screams the tomb residing within
Dead are the pillars and yet alive
In the history of times it lived.

I stand alone watching it
Of the sun going back
To the home I know not
Revisiting pasts and presents.

Controlling the magnificent trail
Lies the beauty of time
Yet darkness brings its story
To a standstill I know not.

Like a flesh cut by a razor
The segments whisper nothings
Crying aloud of sadness within
Yet laughing at smiles it held.

I am still wondering of the circle
When death will leap across me
And no one will wonder for long
In a spectre of light I will be lost.

The monument of death and prayer
Stand eternal mocking me
Asking me as to what I leave
To be remembered forever like it.

I become a chutney of confusions
With having nothing to say
A disembered structure stands
Even thousand years later
Giving lessons of  worthy life.

Also Prompted @3WW, OSI, Weekend Wordsmith, Sunday Scribblings, Inspiration Monday, Theme Thursday.

Note: I might be using my own photography in some of my posts and it will be watermarked @NS Photography and so would be copyrighted to me just like this one 🙂

30 thoughts on “Mighty Ruins

  1. “Lessons are written in walls
    Of the sour grapes it gave
    And rosy petals that smelled
    In garden of sorrows and love.

    That wasn’t supposed to happen
    Screams the tomb residing within
    Dead are the pillars and yet alive
    In the history of times it lived.”

    A history lesson here, but more, lessons of life, lessons in life… and yet we go over and do the same things. Very thought-provoking verse. Profound. And the photograph is really lovely!

  2. And you say I write well! Either you like pulling my leg, or you are just too modest, or you need a psychiatrist! Look at what you have written!! Its a PIECE, fabulous PIECE! Its vivid, and elegant and beautiful. Excellent write.

  3. Such a splendid poetry describing the glory of those peaceful and dumb momuments which made a mark in our history. I liked the way you tried to portray how these quiet looking mighty ruins speak of their eminence through its rich history. And you have also compared yourself with these remnants, that was beautifu!

  4. ruins tell us that there was History sometime their .. and we the people of modern world have let it go to to ruins ..

    beautiful lovely poem .. Excellent

  5. Pingback: Inspiration Monday: pretend you don’t notice « BeKindRewrite

Leave a comment