Turbulent Summers

tumblr_lqvls95h5M1qg1hgio1_500_large

Firstly, apologies to the readers and Nimue for not completing the Month of the Year challenge in December 2012 as I fell severely ill. But, starting 2013 with a baggage doesn’t seem a good idea so I was granted 15 days extension thanks to Nimue. Thanks darling. I promise, to write it all this time.

Let me just jumble May and June together in the monthly challenge. To be honest, May and June were just too identical in 2012. I mean they meant just one thing, pure hard work from dawn to dusk. And the hard work of the kind, I doubt I ever did. After all, the project was life breaking (which I submitted in July end). So, I doubt I got time to even breath. It was just books, loads of reading, than the loads of writings and re- writings and task to finish on time. I doubt I had any outings. I even missed some nice gatherings. On top of it all- the scorching heat.

Yet, there was the Nephew’s birthday. But sadly got no time to bake. The cake was bought and cut over on a Skype call. So sweet memories 🙂

So, in essence, May and June were the stormy summers for me, filled with hard work, super stress, falling ill , and many nervous breakdowns. It had some bonding friendships too , but they were there till project lasted. Some colleagues are just so selfish. All that I needed in this period was the jest to survive it all.

A world of impossibilities it seems
In the sweaty hand that scribbled
This time to survive, the hardships
Possibilities were to be made, in summers.

I have been defiant, in the past
Rolling in my own sky, and losing
Now no options, stood ahead me
It was to be done, to move ahead.

Watching were the heavenly skies
Said my well wishers, all around
Every time I broke and lost spirit
To achieve it all, one last time.

I whispered “Again?” to myself
For the ordeal was not new
But I had past of failures I detest
I prayed for the strength till the last.

And with those strengthening words
I scribbled, I cried, I died within
I smiled, I succeeded, and broke more
But in the end, the first step was completed.

tumblr_m3hurcBApV1qesyjdo1_500

Written as part of Lady Nimue’s Month of the Year Writing Prompt-Season 3.

Also Prompted @ Inspiration Monday, OSI, Sunday Scribblings, Theme Thursday, DVerse Poets Pub and Trifecta.

23 thoughts on “Turbulent Summers

  1. L W,

    You are a strong girl to have faced all that so boldly and come out with success. How are you keeping now? Please do not neglect your health.

    Take care

  2. I’m so sorry to hear you’ve been sick! Hope you’re feeling better now.
    You’ve got a couple of tough months outlined here! I hope you enjoy your work. That can make all the difference when you have to go at it that hard for that long. That “first step” ending clinches it! All of that, and it feels like just a drop in the bucket. But you have to start somewhere. : )

  3. Nice to hear that you succeeded and sorry to hear you were so sick. I really understand what you went through with being so sick right now. And very nice of Lady Nimue to extend your time. That takes a little bit of stress off of you. Stress sure can make one really sick and affects everyone’s well being.

    Very nice poem to let us know what had been going on in your life during those months. Being defiant is sometimes a good thing, especially when it works in one’s favor.

    Thank you so much for sharing this with this weeks Theme Thursday, very much appreciated. Have a wonderfully calm weekend, relax, put your feet up on the coffee table, enjoy a book, go out to a nice dinner or stay home curled up on the couch doing nothing.

    God bless.

    • Stress has been a killer for my immunity too…Hopefully things become easier sooon…really appreciate your detailed reading and comments, brings a smile on the face 🙂
      Hope you doing good.
      God Bless 🙂

  4. Pingback: Inspiration Monday: sky writing « BeKindRewrite

Leave a comment