Mental Heath

Murmuring in my solace,
Evenings often dark,
Non existent faces,
Tumours of panic,
At that inner fear,
Longing to fly away.

Heaving sighful jitters,
Ears sweat, hand shaky,
Amidst the support, I fall,
Love I get, from all,
To conquer anxiety, everyday,
Happens now, I win often.

This is an Acrostic Poem.

Written as part of OctPoWriMo Writing Prompt  Day 10: World Mental Health Day

P.S.: Anxiety and stage/presentation fright has been my biggest obstacle to anything ever. I would shake the worse in interviews and viva voice and my words used to freeze, hand and feet sweat and I used to ruin all my preparations. Now I think the whole process of loosing confidence were to be blamed. Then, one day, I took a call, took consultation and decided to take it in my stride. I had issues travelling in subways too at a time. Blame it a bit on genes too. Luckily, I conquered step by step. In my doctorate defense, I was jittery at start, but then thanks to the preparation, emerged super victorious. Then, took care of interviews too. Initially in my career I had issues for it involved lectures. I still have, like all people do, but then manage it all without those panic attacks on most days. Now there are days when I lecture five hours in a day and my students don’t see even a bit of sweat. Lately, my supervisor said your confidence is growing and so I feel the anxiety is going. So, if anyone suffers from any mental ailment, never shy from consulting doctors, that is the first step to a happy future.

3 thoughts on “Mental Heath

  1. Good that your confidence is rising when it comes to speaking on stage, Lady W 🙂 When your confidence rises in a place you know was not your strong point, then it rises overall too. So that’s wonderful. And a wonderful acrostic too.

    • Well, even classrooms are mini stages so atleast there I have the full confidence now. All that anxiety was from the fact that I didn’t know if this profession is for me maybe. Now that I love it, nothing else matters. Also, if I can manage curious late teen students, rest humans are easily manageable. Glad you liked it 🙂

Leave a Reply

