Love Gone Bad

Fear_by_go_back_to_sleep

He was the wrong one
I told her quite often
But he had his spell
She saw only the love rue.

He hated me for my mind
For he was the ruffian
She was someone I cherished
And then their chords matched.

Everyone gave in to their smiles
I just prayed with all my might
Wedding day also I saw that scare
Chose a distance, for God’s sight.

Years passed, life gave them tiny tots
I met sometimes to see just her smiles
Then one fine day I knew what she hid
The scars that was all his doing.

She thought baby girls will undo them
Lived along just for they needed
A burn here, a tie there she felt
Pushed and bruised was she all around.

The wandering eye he had always
Accused her of switching loyalties
Smelled him of all the bewitching beauties
And cursed her of luring his relatives.

In the fight of his own self
He saw enemy in familiar faces
Gave tears even to his kin
And pushed her way too far.

One fine day she could not take
And chose the door that took her away
For all she did did, was still keep silent
Provoked him, still wanted was to kill love.

Everyday she struggle still to stay or leave
But then her youngest one refuses to go back
Saying, ‘dad beats my mom everyday’
And she sighs to try to look for a way out still.

Image Source

Written as part of the OctPoWriMo Writing Prompt Day 30: Writing about the Hard Stuff

35a81-journal

Also, Prompted @Theme Thursday and @ABC Wednesday (P is for Pushed).

P.S. : When I read the prompt for this week I knew I had to write about abuse. I realized I had written about rape and child abuse. And then I remembered my cousin who recently told me how she wasn’t just married to a bad mouthing husband but someone who beats. He hates me even more now for he thinks I don’t talk to him for I am selfish and support her and I laugh at the lies he still goes on telling the world. I knew he is wrong for I have known him since my childhood and there is not one right thing he did and the one he did, he spoiled too.  I can like forgive everyone but an abuser ? Never. I told her I can still forgive someone who curses, but a man who once beats will do it forever. And she is a very educated girl and he is someone who fakes education and hence has this inferiority complex. It is also one reason I think even if a guy is doing well in life, should be educated enough to match the thinking of his girl. Marriages like this make me lose faith in love and marriage. Also, giving chances to a man who slapped even once in anger is calling for disaster. I hope men realize beating doesn’t prove your manhood but proves how unmanly you are.

Also, domestic violence isn’t just abuse as shown above  but is also forced marital rapes. And I think we all should raise voices against that too. Being married doesn’t mean you don’t respect the wishes of your spouse. Also horrendous marital rapes are learnt to exist because lot of wrong men think that just because they are their husband, she is to agree to everything. Ladies, if wrong is happening, learn to say NO.

Stop_the_Violence_by_shooot_me

Image Source

8 thoughts on “Love Gone Bad

  1. So sad and difficult. I don’t think any woman should put up with abuse or ever go back to it again if she manages to leave. I’ve never been physically abused, but have experienced verbal and emotional abuse. I think leaving is complicated, not always so clear cut, and can be a hard thing to do. As sad as abuse is…it’s sad to me too, the condemnation against some women that choose to stay for whatever their reasons. Women need support and love to be able to make changes. They’ve probably had enough condemnation from their partners.

Leave a Reply

