Destined Conversations

575718_10201036044245545_296738736_n_large

Today I feel like telling a story. Of another he and a dreamy she. A story hidden in the pages of fiction. And maybe smiling in the embrace of reality. A story that still smells of love and filled with fragrance of truth. A story not of hurt but of hearts that were once in pain.  I could call him a cynic who stopped trusting down the road. She was a wary one too but was a believer and a strong one. Believer of fate and destiny, of nicety and love.  He was the kind hard to convince of real emotions. But then they met.

One fine rainy day, in a mystic but crowded cafe, their fates just crossed paths.

A boy had no option but to disturb a girl engrossed in a book. For the cafe was just too full.

large (2)

He:  Excuse me? Is there anyone else sitting with you.

Irritated at being disturbed, she peeked through the book to have a look at the voice.  A tall guy with beautiful green eyes caught her fancy, but then he was not that cute to be forgiven for interrupting her in midst of a beautiful novel.

She: No. But that shouldn’t concern you.

He noticed that smirk and that irritation and also those deep brown eyes behind the black frame of spectacles. Some innocence she had which he couldn’t avoid.

He: Well, the cafe is too full to sit. So if only I can sit till some table gets free?

With a caustic look she replied.

She: Umm. Okay.
He: Thanks.

She was again lost in her book. But then she left a mark which he wanted to explore. Something which even the arrogant he wanted to ascertain. Because her being caustic was just so fake. She produced some naive innocence with her presence.

He then tries to strike a conversation with his deep voice.

He(clears throat): Elif Shafak writes brilliantly.
She (surprised): You read ?

He (with a smile): I write too.

There was something in her mind which always said that men who look good can not be the brainy ones.

She: Interesting.
He: You seem surprised?

She: No.  Just.
He: You judge easily.

She: Eh? You don’t even know me. Also, by saying that, who is being judgmental?
He: Relax.  Don’t be defensive. Was just an observation.

She: I am not. Just. Whatever.
He: Oops. Seems I annoyed much. Sorry for that.

She( relaxing much): Its okay. So what all you write?
He: Mostly fictions. At the moment working on a science fiction.

She: You mean you do it for a living? ( A much more surprised look)
He( with some more smile) : Not really. Am an engineer by education but this is something I want to do.

She: Wow. Lucky you. Getting a chance to pursue what you want to. Most don’t.
He: We all can, if we want it that bad.

She: Maybe. Maybe we all don’t try that bad. Sigh.
She(thoughtfully): I am more into poetry though. Reading Shafak is like reading poetry in motion and that is why I love her.

He: True. So you write too?
She:Yes. Kind of. I have even studied literature once for a degree. But then. Life moves on.

He: Now I am envious. Getting to study literature is like luck.
She: Haha. I guess we get some, we lose some. I get to study literature and you get to write it.

He: Yes, maybe.

Suddenly the waiter comes in with a cup of coffee.

Waiter : Sir your order.
He: O Thanks.

He: So a poetess I meet. You must be quite a believer.
She: And you quite logical.

He: O yes. I am a cynic. Have to be in a world like this.
She: What is wrong with the world? You get air to breath, food to eat, water to drink. And for the rest, blame the humans.

He couldn’t help but smile at the simplicity of this girl. Someone who might have seen it all and seemed hurt and yet had so much beauty and love within.

As he dreamed looking at her, she waved her hand in front of those eyes.

She: Hello?  What happened?
He( waking up): Nothing. Was wondering how nicety still exists.

She: Well it does, for you are one too, right?
He (looking deep into her eyes): Am I?

She just couldn’t help get lost into those eyes that enticed her.

He didn’t know what he was doing but just wanted to freeze that moment.

It was there that two souls found some spark that they missed in their lives for ages.  They didn’t knew what will happen next, but they didn’t wanted to know.

She finally said smilingly.

She (blushingly): Yes
He( blushing ): I am glad.

large (3)

And so amidst some books and laughter, coffee and conversations, poetry and believes, another story was being written.

P.S. : Just out of blue someone reminded me of he-she fictions. Though, the poetry challenge is keeping me busy this month I felt maybe I can attempt writing one after long and since it turned just fine, thought will post. If some of you do read it, I would like to hear some feedback as it encourages me and since I like this piece even though mushy, I would love your comments on it 🙂

12 thoughts on “Destined Conversations

  1. Isn’t it interesting the way a spark can come from an edgy beginning???
    I like the flow of the conversation between the two characters. It leaves one
    wondering if the woman softens her edge and if the man can be patient enough
    to wait for it to happen. Nice story ….

  2. Behen, this was so lovely! I could visualise from the go. These she-he spontaneous conversations are so romantic, so adventurous, so truthful, so enigmatic, so exotic and so confiding. I have these she-he situations sometimes and it’s like you leave a part of your heart with the ‘he’. I could so relate to this one in particular. Thank you Naby! 🙂

  3. Enjoyed this very much. I like the way they fell into place even though she was cynical and a little snarky in the beginning. I also like the way you ended it with them not knowing where it was headed, but they were fine with the not knowing part of it. Life is this way…complicated and not always knowing where it’s taking us.

Leave a Reply

