Lonely Winters

1258772385357893

When one has accomplished one goal and there is no route to other goals, a kind of emptiness sweeps within. You know you are a bundle of dreams, expectations and desires and yet you are seen as one useless person for you are just waiting. And that sucks like nothing. October and November did that to me. I could still not get out of my city for a vacation and hence the stress quotient wasn’t relieved much and on top of it, illness crept in badly with almost everyone falling ill. So, the month was about medicines, sleeps, arguments, bad moods and what not.

Also, some realizations happened. Some relationships are of sort where  love is too much when apart, and too many disagreements when together.  Nevertheless, too much love kills for there are too many expectations.  But then, we manage for we have to. Again these months were isolated ones, when the social and friend circle were not present any near. So, a really dark winter in a way.

However, October did give one nice occasion to celebrate. A festival we made into a mini celebration for the family. Apart from loads of cooking, self pampering and shopping, we made it a fun day for our cute baby. Since, the baby’s first birthday was a video call one , we decided to bake a cake and celebrate one in our own ways. I managed to bake a cake apart from all other things and one tiny smash cup cake for him. And all of it did get done on time. Nice clothes, loads of photography, much more foods and load and load of smiles the day brought. Baby looked the cutest with his dangling long hair ( which got cut the next day and in a day he transformed from a baby to a big boy). The traditional attire look was best on our angel too but best was him carrying his cup cake in whole house and soiling around even if he hardly ate.  But, the cake was a hit and for the first time my sibling actually said you did bake one awesome cake. Totally worth it all.

23714335507763082_M5sCNjoP_c

Naked truths stood upfront,
Vacant lies the within
Tears roll across again
To fight inner recesses.

I fall, I detest it
Hidden are all goals
Focused ideas are empty
I am everything but me.

Jar of wishes is ajar
I desire to pick a jelly
Blooming with all love
Yet, that step seems far.

Idle looks my present
To all who sees carelessness
Turmoil I carry across
No one but the mind knows.

Load of expectations kills
Aware I, of all responsibility
The child within wants to play
One last time, like the end.

I reside all alone
In the middle of nowhere
To find a purpose or light
Where lies the path of sight.

An angel exists as a cure
Pairing smiles,  to sad tears
Giving sparks of happiness
And  I smile a bit.

Separation from you was hardest
When sickness found its way
I can never forget your excitement
When I smiled to your jigs.

For that moment I promise to cheer
Once and for all things dear
And say hello to rays
For my little sunshine there.

1248357345962608

Written as part of Lady Nimue’s Month of the Year Writing Prompt-Season 3.

Also Prompted @ 3WW, OSI, The Sunday Whirl, Inspiration Monday, Trifecta and Two Shoes Tuesday.

45 thoughts on “Lonely Winters

  1. I can relate to your post very much..,I have winter inertia (my own diagnosis) and probably appear useless too,,,,,but I do have many fellow bloggers to help me along,,..thanx for sharing

  2. I love how you told us the story behind the poem, sharing it showed how well you crafted the words to describe this period of your life, with it’s struggles and sadness, and yet a bit of joy in the form of a babe full of smiles and excitement for life. Very well done! Thank you for sharing it with us at Two Shoes Tuesday, I appreciate you joining in!

  3. Separation and sickness are hard to bear, especially as the weather outside turns toward winter. But who could fail to smile when looking at that beautiful cupcake-covered ace?

  4. I definitely get SAD’s when winter rolls in. Unfortunately I don’t have the cute distraction you seem to have in a baby (:

  5. Sweet! And a touching illustration of a relationship that is “too much love when apart and too many disagreements when together.” Everything is a mixture, isn’t it? The bitter and the sweet.

  6. Pingback: Inspiration Monday: this is how it starts « BeKindRewrite

Leave a Reply

