Love thy Parents

He: You know, you make me proud?
She : Now what did I do to make you say such nice things?

He (Smiles): Come on, I appreciate and flatter you quite often.
She (Sarcastically) : Yes Yes. Only when you want that Dark Chocolate Brownie right out of the oven with your evening tea.

He: It is ever possible that you don’t taunt me?
She: Well, only if you come straight to the point without going round in circles about what you want.

He stands up and lumbers his way to the book shelf.

She: Can you not be lazy atleast in your walk early mornings. Anyway, I will go and brew some coffee.

He: You know your patience quotient is like a bubble?
She: Ask my school buddies, they will tell you how good with patience I have been.

He: That’s history, dear. Now all you have is a bundle of wrecked nerves.
She (Raises eyebrows): What do to do? I live with one jittery soul.

He slowly opens the marked page from a book he picked up from the book shelf and read it aloud.

“Kneeling down touching the feet of my mother I smile and seek to capture this moment forever. She must be in her nineties’s now and it would be not very far when I would be left without her presence. There was not a single moment I must have lived without her. Be it in school, college or when I left the city for my job or even when I got married. All I demanded from the people who entered my life is that this lifeline accompanied me always. People considered me mad and some nice ones considered her lucky for having such a daughter but nothing made me part from her. I came into this world as she of all people wanted to conceive me. She knew it would be a daughter all the nine months even when people said you should want a son and it was she who taught me basic principles of self respect , love and adjustments of life.

Today when I am a successful woman, a loved wife and a loving mother, I want to tell her that she is  the one who taught me to balance life and also she  was the only one who never let me break and  held me at every crossroad of my life. I  kissed her feet and  said  with a tear in my eyes, 

“Mom, Stay with me forever”

At that instant, my precious mom opened her eyes from her afternoon slumber and put her hands on my head to bless me and to tell I will live forever inside you.  She also made me aware that  whenever I needed her all I had to do was  just feel her inside my heart. In her blessings she inspired me to teach my children what she taught me always . She didn’t speak a word and yet she said it all in conversation with my heart to make me smile once again.  “

She (With a wide grin): You managed to read my book when you said you will never do so.
He: You think I can resist not reading you when your words were what made me fall in love with you?

She moved forward to embrace him.

She (Embracing his arms) : It would be nothing if I didn’t had a loving husband like you.
He: It could only  have been a super woman like you who could have made the world realize that happiness indeed lies in taking care of one’s parents even as they grow old . You had just one plan, to stay beside and take care of ones who brought you in the world, and you worked all according to plan.  It is woman like you that make my chest swell with pride it is woman like you that make a man like me love my woman so easily.

She (Blushingly): You make me so proud in knowing and marrying you. All that I am was possible only for I had someone like you beside me always.
He: I am a much more prouder man.

She (Kissing him): I Love You
He(Kisses his forehead):  I Love you too

Before both of them could say more, screams of children started coming from the front door .

He (Sighs): There comes our devils to intrude in our moment of romance.
She (Punching him in the stomach) : Grrr….they are my angels.

He (Bigger sigh) : Mothers will be mothers.

The children come and embrace both of them.

Children (Screaming together) : We love you Mom and Dad.
He and She ( Together kissing their angels): We love you too.

Also Prompted @ 3WW, OSI, Inspiration Monday, Theme Thursday, Weekend Wordsmith, Sunday Scribblings

23 thoughts on “Love thy Parents

    • It is one of the few best compliments on a special post I could have received and coming from such a great writer and a friend like you makes me really glad. I am very thankful 🙂

  1. My, my you are so blessed with telling stories that leave you wanting more… You bring a smile to my face when I read your work… you have a true gift… keep sharing it with the world!

    ~L

  2. The tribute to Mom’s is so wonderful that it makes one want to cry. My mother is getting up there in age and so I hope I remember this. Thank you so much for writing it.

    Thanks for playing in this weeks Theme Thursday. I am always amazed that you all can keep these memes straight but you do a nice job.

    God bless.

  3. Pingback: Inspiration Monday: the noise of ideas « BeKindRewrite

  4. Pingback: Inspiration Monday: the noise of ideas | bekindrewrite

Leave a Reply

