My Sins against Gender Stereotypes!

I thank Crazy Diamond- aka Dips for tagging me here

If you are a woman,

Have you ever wanted something that is considered ‘manly’ ? Like a basketball, a cell phone, a dog, a camera or a new laptop? A new car or motor bike? Ever wanted to be a pilot? A doctor or not a nurse? And the manliest want of them all – The remote!
As a kid did you enjoy playing with a bat and a ball?
There was a time when books were considered ‘manly’, women authors had to pretend to be men – would you say books are still rather manly – women should want to embroider and crochet?.


If you are a man,


Have you ever wanted something that only women are supposed to want – like bags, shoes, clothes, creams, perfumes, babies, flowers? A peaceful home and a happy family? Have you ever been afraid of the dark or of insects?As a kid did you ever want to play ‘teacher-teacher’, cooking or did you like playing with a doll? Have you ever enjoyed cooking? Bought something in pink? Loved chocolates?.


So here’s the tag – Please list at least ten things you have ever wanted or done which your gender is not supposed to.


The tag is called ‘My Sins against Gender Stereotypes’. And you must tag twelve blogging friends or else you will be cursed to wear blue clothes pants if you are a womanand pink shirts if you are a man – for next twelve years.

So here comes my list:-




1. I Love photography. I used to be the official photographer of my house in all holidays ……though I have lost the touch over time but would surely buy an amazing camera and learn different shots one day.

2. I am a total gadget freak– be it computers, mobiles, ipods, latest music systems, etc …I even love video gaming and stuff( though wasn’t allowed much )…..you name it and I want it.

3. I am one no order, messiness personified person of my house. My room is a exemplar of total mess( though I keep cleaning it often) which created to prove I stay there. Infact my kitchen goes haywire the day I cook ( though I do clean it up later :P)

4. I dislike shopping. I seriously do. I don’t hate it but ya….for me shopping is like going over choosing stuffs ( which is lot as I am too picky) and moving on………and I hate it more when I have to hang on for others to shop…I am just impatient with it.

5. I love horse riding. Though I am yet to learn it but I use to do it in bits every summer during school days and used to love the thrill.

6. I love adventures and adventures sports. I wanna try them all atleast once in my life time. I already love the thrills of the most risky slides in amusement parks.

7. I so would love to learn guitar one day. – i.e. if it’s considered a male thing. I am sure I am gonna take classes and learn it eventually. Back in my childhood I even loved drums and wanted to learn them but was given a big trashing for the sounds it creates so had to drop the idea.


8.I am the engineer/ repair system of my house- from the cordless phone wires, to the lappy to changing bulbs to repairing my PC……..infact anyone who sees my PC wonders if a girl handles it for it is one helluva piece of wiring which can be opened at one’s discretion …..infact my bro is more sensitive of even touching it.

9. I use to sport short hair when young. My hair were not short but really really short and I even went bald like twice in my 6th and 7th standard. ……But now I am over that phase and love flowing long hair .

10. I am the born rebel of my house with the inborn boxing capabilities- be it slapping my cousins, to my school friends , to wrestling with my bro……..have done it out….I even slapped my best friends in my graduation so loudly that everyone in the lab turned back ( and now noone of us have an idea why did I slapped :P). My anger was so bad in childhood that I tore mom’s dupattas in my childhood :P. It still exists and it has now got mixed with feminist streaks with time…..so my family thinks twice before arousing me even now.

11. I love soft rock and certain kind of rock music. I even like Metallica……just the hardcore evil rock doesn’t appeal to me much.

12. I used to be found in shorts playing basketball during my childhood days. Infact those days which we all termed as ‘basketball days’ were the best fun days of our life.

13. I love all kinds of cars and even bikes. As I said thrills really appeal to my inner self more than the silent submissive things.


Well, I choose 13 points to make it a part of Thursday-13.

Apart from these things, there other so called ‘manly’ qualities I imbibe like reading, writing, inexpressive at times, I also prefer manly boxers and t-shirt to bed. I want private spaces in relationships and at home and I am an big mood swing creature which an trait males exhibit.

I am also a very girlish girly….which I love pink, makeup, accessories, candle lites ……..and all mushiness intact.

Now coming to the tough part of tagging……I tag:-

1. Divaa Divine
2. Ms. R
3. Raaji
4. Ria
5. Pri
6. Mehak
7. nil
8. Arv
9. Leo
10. Zee
11. Dido
12. Deeps
49 thoughts on “My Sins against Gender Stereotypes!

  1. Loll loved reading it.. especially " punching my best frd" one :Phaha.. good one..thankss for tagging me girl …i think i just have to copy 6 of them to my blog and my tag is complete loll 🙂

  2. well it seems to be a real interesting girl….hope all girls were like u n i don't have to go to shop to pink roses…n ya shop at times pink top to give as present….but ya answering ur one question i luv chocolates n would luv them for ever….though its girly….

  3. wow i like it when girls are gadget freaks 🙂 Guitar aint a male thing 🙂 but good that you want to learn it 🙂 wow i love soft rock..should check put your playlist if you have any 🙂

  4. Point 3, 4 (hatin the hangin on while others shop bit), 6, 7, 10, 11, 13 – Checkboxers, t-shirts – checkPersonal space – checkMood swings – checkMakeup – checkaccessories – checkcandle lights – checkWOW Girl you could've been my twin

  5. Thanks for picking this tag. Being the engineer and repair system at home is considered such a manly thing – you are a SAGS no doubt! [And I am very curious about the wiring of your PC 🙂 ]And on top of that you love adventure sports and photography, dislike shopping and have a messy room 😉 Please join the facebook group for SAGS and share this link to your confessions 🙂

  6. interesting tag…will take this up as soon as possible! :)can relate to a lot of your points though..its always feels great to have company 😉

  7. now just as i was reading through our post, i was wondering none of these interests are mine..i'm such a girly girl..and here comes your tag at the end of the post..i'd have to think hard for it:P but im definitely going to do it…its the first time someone tagged me..yayii!!!*all excited*

  8. @ A.D. offcourse we r kickass twins 😀 we might be from two countries but fact it both have origin from the same soil 😛 so no doubts 😀 u surely surprised me ..but then thats how twins are :DMwaaahz 🙂

  9. @ A.D. offcourse we r kickass twins 😀 we might be from two countries but fact it both have origin from the same soil 😛 so no doubts 😀 u surely surprised me ..but then thats how twins are :DMwaaahz 🙂

Leave a Reply

